Bio

My name is Rachel and I’m from Washington, DC. I grew up speaking French as a second language (I attended French Immersion schools) and was constantly immersed in other languages and cultures in my ethnically diverse community. I’ve studied French, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish, and have traveled to just under 30 different countries. I’ve lived in the US, France, Canada, South Korea, and I am currently living in Puerto Rico, where I am studying towards a Master’s in TESL. I’ve been teaching since 2007, including ESL (English as a Second Language), French, Spanish, and piano.

I am passionate about language learning/teaching, traveling to new places, and meeting people from different cultures. I love reading about history (including alternative history, such as the research of Graham Hancock and Gavin Menzies), music, ethnic foods, dancing, sprinting, and weight-lifting.

Advertisements

6 Responses to Bio

  1. Did I read right that you’re living in Paju? What’s it like up there, so close to the border? I’ve been through there, but not in the city itself. I’m further down the peninsula, in Jeonju.

    • Hi, David! I’ve only been in South Korea (and thus Paju) for a little over a week. So far, I really like it! I’ve seen North Korea from the bus, and there are security checkpoints everywhere, so it’s a bit creepy at times. It doesn’t really influence daily life, though (not mine anyhow).

  2. Doug Girma says:

    It’s great to see that you are traveling and living out your dream 🙂 Congrats old friend!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s