A Year in Puerto Rico

Hola!

Can you believe we moved to Puerto Rico exactly one year ago? I can still remember our first day here like it was yesterday, but in some ways, it feels like we’ve been here a lifetime. But what have I accomplished? Grad school has totally dominated my life, and I feel like I haven’t done a thing besides study and teach online. When I think back on it, it’s hard to believe that I’ve completed one year of grad school, Glenn opened his own gym, and we’ve had 6 different people/groups of people come to visit. It’s funny how time can seem to stand still, yet passes us by with the blink of an eye.

I realize that I had promised to post more often over the summer, and then I went ahead and completely skipped the month of July. To be honest, nothing really interesting has happened besides my parents and a friend coming to visit (on separate occasions). Glenn and I are not financially in a position to travel, or to even leave the house, really, because we always end up spending money (grabbing a bite to eat, coffee, etc). So I’ve spent my free time reorganizing our apartment, doing crossword puzzles, working out at Coastal Fitness, and catching up on TV shows. To be honest, this all got pretty boring after a while, but I kept telling myself to enjoy it while I still could. Sure enough, my summer break is almost over. Fall semester starts next Monday.

I do have a few pictures to post, but I’ve been lazy about updating my gallery because 1) I’ve just been lazy, in general, and 2) I want to reorganize my pictures before I add more, and I haven’t had the motivation to do that. I can’t promise that I’ll get around to it any time soon; I may end up finding the inspiration to do so this week, before the new semester starts, but otherwise, it will probably wait a while as I’ll be super busy again very soon.

This semester, I’ll be taking 3 courses: Phonology, Sociolinguistics, and Theories of TESL. I’m actually really excited about them (except maybe Theories, because I already feel theoried-out from my summer class), but I know it’s going to be a lot of work. Next spring semester, I’ll be taking 4 courses in order to finish my degree by May 2016. Therefore, don’t expect frequent updates on here for the next several months.

Speaking of keeping this thing updated, another reason that I probably won’t post frequently is that I had started this blog to keep everyone in my life up-to-date on my travels and adventures. Well, I haven’t been traveling, and I haven’t been having too many adventures. Also, many of you write to me via email, and I just don’t have the time or energy to reply to emails AND post in my blog. I feel it is rude to ignore emails, and so my blog has been, and will continue to be, neglected–unless something really cool or amazing happens here, and I feel inspired to post about it.

Wish me luck as I start my last year of grad school. Cheers!

P.S. If you would like to see photos of my parents’ visit in July, please check out their sites: Dan LaRusso Photography and Alice LaRusso Photography

Gallery | This entry was posted in Puerto Rico and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

