Summer Class

I had two glorious weeks off between spring semester and the start of my summer class (refer to my previous post, Mango Street.) I slept a lot, did crossword puzzles, and watched a lot of TV shows on my laptop. Oh, and I drew a picture:

photo(3)

It might sound boring, but I had been so sleep-deprived and overworked that two weeks of nothing was exactly what I needed. I still taught my lessons, but due to Russian holidays and the end of the school year, I’ve had fewer teaching hours lately. A lighter teaching load is not good, because that means I’m still having to borrow money from my parents to survive, but will not apologize for the much-needed mental break!

Some other fun things that have happened in the past few weeks:

A group selfie on the last day of my Research Methods class
11165257_10153294757453767_7537025565872951321_n

Some horses walked by while we were at the cafe
photo(2)

Glenn has a dance partner at the bank who breaks into a salsa step every time she sees him
photo(1)

Glenn and our friend, Alejandro, ordered a two-person margarita
photo

This was the first week of my summer class: “Techniques and Materials for ESL at the Elementary, Secondary, Post-Secondary, and Adult Levels.” It’s every day, Monday-Friday, from 10:30am-1:20pm. So, I get up and teach 2-3 lessons, sit in class for 3 hours, and then teach 2-3 more lessons. I’m tired again. But the good news is that the class is only three weeks long, and there are just two weeks left now. After this class is over, I’ll probably spend another week or two recovering before I get into the swing of having a life again.

I feel the quality (and quantity) of my posts have been declining, and to be honest, it’s because this spring semester killed my motivation for writing. I took three writing-intensive classes, and I had zero desire to write for any other reason. It’s also the reason I’ve been so bad at responding to emails. I try my best to update my blog and keep up with all of my email correspondences, but I just haven’t been able to make myself do it lately. I do apologize to anyone who is still waiting to hear back from me!

Before I go, I’d like to share a YouTube video that Glenn and I made as an introduction to Coastal Fitness. Like it? Leave a comment below!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Class

  1. Marian La russo says:

    Hi Sweetheart, I LOVED, LOVED your picture. I am trying to make a copy from the computer.You will see it hanging in the den when you are hereFrom both of us.  XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Leave a Reply

