Glenn Speaks Spanish

Well, not exactly, but Glenn is starting to understand a lot of Spanish! Last weekend in Lajas, Glenn understood the concierge when he asked if we had a reservation, and he also understood the waitress in the restaurant every time she asked him a question. I couldn’t believe my eyes–and ears! He will be speaking Spanish in no time (or at least Spanglish).

Last weekend at La Parguera in Lajas was great. I still had to teach lessons on Saturday and Sunday, but we relaxed and explored the town otherwise. (Pictures are now up on my “Photos” page.) We had a very nice time and it set us up for a good week to follow. Unfortunately, it’s been a lot more stressful than I’d hoped.

Last Friday, October 31st, I finished proofreading the book that one of the professors at my university had written. My advisor had recommended my proofreading services to this professor, and he sent me his manuscript at the beginning of October. He wanted it done by the end of the month. OK, no problem. I got it to him on the 31st. I got an email on Tuesday saying I did a horrible job and that he wasn’t going to pay me. I was shocked and confused and asked what specifically he was displeased with. Well, it turned out that he had expected me to add a comment to every single change that I made in his book (you can insert a comment into a Word document by highlighting something in the text, clicking “add comment,” and it adds a little text bubble on the outside of the page with a line connecting it to the highlighted part). So, he had expected me to add a comment to every punctuation mark, added space, deleted space, changed word, and so on. Wow. Luckily, I had saved the original copy he’d sent me and I spent 10 hours comparing both documents to see where I’d made changes so that I could insert all the comments he requested. And by 10 hours, I mean in a row. I started at 7:30pm on Tuesday and finished at 5:30am, which is the time that I usually wake up. I literally took only 3 bathroom breaks that entire time and didn’t stop to even check my email or drink some water. I was exhausted. I had to cancel my first lesson at 8am (sorry, Katie!) so that I could sleep for a few hours before teaching the rest of the day. I managed to get about 4 hours of sleep, taught 6 lessons, and spent the rest of the evening doing homework. Then, I saw another email from the professor, apologizing for his previous email. He hadn’t realized that I’d proofread it because I hadn’t added any comments (I guess actually reading it to see if I had proofread it or not was out of the question?).

While I was suffering through teaching and homework on just 4 hours of sleep, I got a call from Glenn, who had gone out to the store or something. The car broke down. Again. He had it towed to Pep Boys (our 6th visit in 2 months) and this time, they figured out that the car needs a new computer. In fact, it was probably the computer that needed replacing all along (another $300). Thanks, Pep Boys, for taking $2000 of my money before realizing what the real problem was. They would need to keep the car overnight because they didn’t have the part yet. From there, Glenn walked over to Agility Fitness (the gym where he teaches self-defense) and got a ride home from one of the other trainers there.

I also noticed on Wednesday that I have a huge bug bite on my thigh. I don’t know when or how it happened, or even what bit me. The center looks and feels like a regular mosquito bite, but it’s surrounded by a gigantic purple bruise, about 2.5 inches in diameter (you can see a picture of it on my “Photos” page). Everyone was telling me to go see a doctor, but I didn’t have a car.

Today, Thursday, Glenn was getting ready to go over to Pep Boys and pick up the car when he got a phone call from them saying they couldn’t get the part. The car is 20 years old and they hadn’t had any luck finding such an old part. GREAT. Glenn had to take a cab over to Agility Fitness to teach his self-defense class this evening, and he’ll have to do the same tomorrow morning (he teaches Thursday evenings and Friday mornings). Despite all of our bad luck this week, I was staying positive because I would get to see my friend, Natalie, on Saturday.

Natalie is a friend from home who happened to have the opportunity to come to San Juan this week with her friend, for her friend’s job. Her friend’s employer provided them with a rental car, and they would have been able to come meet us. We had decided that we would meet halfway between San Juan and Mayagüez, either in Arecibo in the north or Ponce in the south. I texted Natalie today to let her know about our car situation and to see if she and her friend were willing to drive all the way out to Mayagüez (about a 2.5-hour drive from San Juan). Apparently, they had a little accident with the rental car and can’t drive it anymore. So much for something to look forward to this week.

I’m crossing my fingers that we’ll have our car back by next Wednesday, because I’ll need to drive out to San Germán for class. In two weeks, we have a couple of friends coming to stay with us for a few days, and having a car would really be helpful.

In October, I spent every Sunday working on my proofreading job for the professor. Now that that’s over with, I’m dedicating Sundays to working on final projects for the semester. I’ve got 3 huge projects to do, and I’ve only got 3 weekends to get them done. Maybe 4, if I bring homework with me during the Thanksgiving holiday. (I don’t have time during the week, or on Saturdays, to work on these projects since I spend my time teaching, planning lessons, reviewing my students’ homework, and doing my weekly assignments.)

My birthday is in 2 weeks, and all I want is to get my car back.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Glenn Speaks Spanish

  1. Marian La russo says:

    Rachel dearest,  wow, one thing after another….Has the bite gotten any better?  As they say in Spanish,  $%$#@$^%$%$%^^…………..Glenn will understand this Spanish…….We are so looking forward to seeing you and Glenn. Do his folks know where they are staying?    I have been busy preparing all sorts of things. Don’t know, yet, what the Hellers have planned.I guess it all depends on Caroline….Hope things start being better for you.  Speak to you soon………….Love you very much…

  2. Hey Rach… so I have a favorite feature on Word that sounds like you could have used for your proofreading job. When you have the original and revised documents saved, open a new doc, click on review and then compare. From there you’ll select the original and revised files and which edits you want documented. This will produce a redlined doc showing any variances between the 2 docs. I live by this so I don’t have to read line by line when reviewing documents for work. Otherwise, you could also use the track changes feature to redline as you go, but compare is best for after the fact. Hope this is helpful!
    PS, love your blogging! Thanks for sharing your adventures 🙂

    • Hey Court! Thanks for the tip! I’m aware of it, actually, and I did use it but I’m also a little obsessive and went through most of it myself anyway… haha! 🙂 The tedious part was having to add a comment to every change. Well, thanks for reading my blog and for taking the time to comment! 🙂

  3. shaunwebb says:

    D: D: D: D:
    You guys will make it! Heck, if you guys can go through the hardships of human error in South Korea, you’re strong enough for this!! Man, I miss you guys so much!! Many blessings to you all!

    Peace and love!

    P.S.
    Sorry for missing your blogs. I’ve not gotten any notifications of when you write. 🙂

    • Hey Shaun! Thanks for the kind words! 🙂 You’re right; the “hardships” we’ve experience here in PR are nothing compared to South Korea. Thanks for putting that back into perspective for me. 😉 I haven’t gotten any notifications for your blog either, but I’m about to check it out! Peace and love to you as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

