Why Did the Crab Cross the Road?

Because that’s what crabs do in Puerto Rico.

Seriously! I almost always see crabs scurrying across 102 on my way home from school every Wednesday night. Sometimes, I see them on the sidewalk in front of my building. One can spot dozens of them darting across the sand when taking a walk along the beach here.

It’s nice living 50 steps from the beach.

I’ve been in Puerto Rico for only 2 months, and yet it feels like a lifetime. I suppose this is inevitable when one is so busy. Things are great: I’m teaching about 30 hours a week (but working 40 due to all the lessons I have to plan), and I spend the rest of my free time studying and completing assignments. I start teaching at 6:00 or 7:00am during the week, and finish between 2:45-3:30pm. Then, I do homework until about 8pm, when Glenn and I go to the gym. We stay for up to an hour, and then we come home and I continue doing homework until about 10:00-10:30pm (during this time, Glenn cooks and serves me dinner). I’m alseep by 11:30, and then I do it all again the next day. This week marks the midway point through the semester, which means I’ve got just 8 weeks left of this semester. My time here in Puerto Rico is going to pass in the blink of an eye.

Glenn has been busy with the first steps to opening his own fitness studio. I really hope this works out for him. He had been so excited about the recruiting job, but unfortunately, it’s been a slow start for him. Some schools don’t have working phone numbers listed, and those that do, often don’t understand him because their English isn’t strong enough. He’s been able to get through to a couple of coaches, but I think his conclusion regarding this job is that he won’t make very much money, if any. He hasn’t actively pursued the next steps towards being able to teach in the high school here in town, so perhaps that’s something he’ll do later as plan B if he can’t get the fitness studio going.

It’s October. Fall. Wow. The hot weather is disorienting in terms of time and its passage. Exactly 2 years ago, I arrived in South Korea. It’s amazing how 2 years ago can seem like a past life.

My friend, Dhaval, visited me in South Korea roughly around this time last year (August 2013). Next week, he and his wife will be coming to Puerto Rico and I’ll blow off my studies to spend some time with them.

I’m afraid that’s all the news I’ve got for today. I didn’t want to go too long without blogging, so I hope this little bit of news is enough to tide you over until my next big post. I imagine it will be after Dhaval’s visit next week.

Hasta pronto entonces.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

