Korea: A Closed Chapter

It’s been over 2 months since I left Korea. I have finally gotten over the reverse culture shock, and no longer feel the need to take my shoes off when I enter a house, or to eat rice with chopsticks. I finally feel fully American again. Is that a good or bad thing? Well, I guess that’s debatable.

This summer has been a good one, though I have never felt so homeless before. I spent 5 weeks in Canada, 7 weeks in the US, then it’s back to Canada for one week before I move to Puerto Rico. During this time, I’ve been able to get together with friends – some of whom I haven’t seen since elementary school! – and even made a trip to NY to visit family there. I’ve gone all over the place, never to stay for long. I suppose this is what it’s like to be a nomad; though even a nomad has his/her own home (it’s just that it’s portable). I will appreciate moving to my own place again and being able to establish a nice routine for myself (work, school, gym, etc.).

Do I miss Korea? Not really. And I don’t say that with any negativity whatsoever. It’s just that… I don’t miss it. I do miss my friends, of course, but I was there for a year and a half and I just don’t feel the need to go back there any time soon. I’m fine with not looking back, and am looking forward now. I’ve already closed that chapter of my life and am ready to open the next one: Puerto Rico!

There is an interesting article I read on Korea, and I’m including it in my list of links. It’s titled, ‘Koreans not ready for multiculturalism.’ Interested? Read it here.

This is probably my last blog entry until I’m in Puerto Rico. I’ll have to hit the ground running there, but I promise an update once I feel settled in.

From “An American living and working in South Korea” to “An American living and studying in Puerto Rico!”

Annyong! I mean… ¡Adios!

Gallery | This entry was posted in South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

