PLEASE DON’T RIDE THE ELEPHANTS!

A high school classmate of mine is currently traveling and volunteering in Thailand, where I just returned from a 2-week vacation. During my stay in the city of Kanchanaburi, I had the opportunity to visit an elephant sanctuary for old and disabled elephants, and I learned all about the abuses that the elephants endure in the logging and tourism industries. You can read all about my experience here.

This former classmate of mine recently published a post on his blog about visiting an elephant conservation center in Chiang Mai, where he took a 30-minute ride in a carriage that was strapped to the elephant’s back (which is what prompted me to write a post about riding elephants). Glenn and I had this same experience in India, before we learned how bad this is for an elephant’s back.

I think that most people don’t even consider riding an elephant to be harmful since they are such enormous, strong creatures. I’m writing this post with the hopes that more people will become aware of the harm elephant-riding causes. Instead of explaining it myself, though, I found another blog that does a great job of describing the effects that it has on the elephants. Please read it here and share it with everyone you know.

Thank you for reading.

View my photos from Elephant World, Kanchanaburi (Thailand)

Gallery | This entry was posted in South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PLEASE DON’T RIDE THE ELEPHANTS!

  1. Pingback: The EVer-changing English Village | rachelthetraveler

Leave a Reply

