An EVentful Month

Get it? “EVentful?” … EV + eventful = EVentful!

Anyways….

My last post was an apology for temporarily discontinuing my blog. I didn’t realize that I would cause concern among my readers, so for that, I do apologize. I simply had no time to write a full entry about why I haven’t been posting and why I wasn’t going to be posting for a while. If you were worried, I sincerely appreciate the concern but know that everything has been fine.

Well, everything HAD been fine. But I’ll get to that later.

Do you remember my blogging about Military Week last November and again this May? Men and women in the Korean military come to EV twice a year to practice their English, and it’s really like a mini-vacation for them. They don’t have to wake up so early, don’t have to exercise unless they want to, and basically have a lot of free time in between some really cool classes and activities we provide. It’s also a break for us teachers, because first of all, they’re adults… not children who need constant attention and discipline. Secondly, their English is generally a lot better than the school children who are still in the process of learning English. So, it’s fun for the soldiers and is fun and easy for the teachers. However, I asked to help Special Programs these two weeks just for a change (I’ve already done Military Week twice now).

From day 1, I regretted my decision because the Special Programs schedule is a lot busier than OWP and we’ve had elementary school students, which is not normally my cup of tea. I can’t complain too much, though, because I did ask to be in SP and the kids have actually been pretty great. Aside from the neediness of the really little kids, and the school teachers asking us to change our schedule and curriculum at the last minute, it hasn’t been bad at all.

Week 1 went great, and it’s now Wednesday of week 2. Next week, as rumor has it, we’ll have a couple of devo days because no programs have been booked. However, EV rumors aren’t always true and I suppose we’ll find out at Friday’s meetings what will be happening next week.

For those of you who have asked about my health via email or Facebook, thank you so much for your concern. I’m doing quite well! I’ve been healthy for a full month now, and I think people are wondering what has gotten into me because, for once, I am feeling great and have been like a whole new person. Though, it occurs to me that I may have just jinxed myself by saying that. I hope not!

So, the real reason I wasn’t going to be blogging anymore was because Glenn has just started an online business and has been hogging the laptop in the evenings and on weekends, which is normally when I go online to blog. Luckily, a colleague recently decided to sell his laptop and we bought it from him, so we now have two functioning computers again (remember, we did have two and the one died and no longer starts up). That means he can continue working on his website and I can blog anytime I want to!

Now, for the bad news: my Korean bank card information was stolen and I had $1,000 taken from me. I just found out about it a couple of hours ago, so I’m still in a bit of a fog from it. I met with the bank lady, whose English is quite limited, and via her semi-English-speaking friend on the phone, I was able to communicate that the transactions listed in my account were not made by me and that I really have no idea how my information was stolen, though clearly that’s what happened. I’ll spare you all the boring details, but basically what it comes down to is that these transactions will be difficult to trace and that it will take “a very long time” to do so, and that the chances of me getting that money back are slim to none. So, my plan to buy some heat tech (long underwear designed for sub-zero temperatures), sweaters, and other things that I desperately need has been foiled.

Happy birthday to me.

Gallery | This entry was posted in South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

