It Finally Feels Like Summer

That’s right, the rainy season is officially over (I hope) and it finally feels like the kind of summer that everyone had warned me about: hot and very humid. It still rains at night and sometimes we get a little during the day, but in general, it’s just cloudy, hot, and muggy like you wouldn’t believe. I might even go as far as to say that it’s more humid here now than summers in DC. (However, the title for the most humid climate I’ve ever experienced still goes to Cartagena, Colombia!)

VIP is still in full swing and we just finished up the second week of it, which means we’re 50% done! Things were a little better than the first week, thankfully. I actually took off Tuesday to go back to the hospital since I had finished my prescription and still wasn’t 100% better. I was thankful to meet with the same doctor as last time (the one I had liked so much) and she gave me another 10-day course of the same antibiotic because saw that the inflammation had completely subsided, which means the meds are working! She and I talked about the discomfort and pain I still experience with my throat when I teach, and she concluded that I probably didn’t give myself enough recovery time after the surgery before going back to work. Honestly, I feel alright when I’m not teaching or using my voice a whole lot. So, that’s probably all it is. Unfortunately, I’m not in a position to take off a lot of time or to change jobs temporarily to allow myself to fully recover. I’m hoping that my 2-week vacation to the Philippines next month will do some good.

Speaking of which, I can’t tell you how anxious I am to go to the Philippines! It will have been 11 months since I arrived in Korea, which means it’s my first vacation in almost a year. Remember, I worked on ALL the holidays: Christmas, New Year’s day, Seollal (the Lunar New Year), and the one Thursday they let us have off didn’t really count because they made us work that Sunday instead to make up for it. Sure, I’ve taken a ton sick days, but being sick/in pain/feeling miserable is NOT a vacation. I think I deserve to enjoy myself, for once, after almost a whole year!

Next week, our good friend, Dhaval, is coming to visit for several days. I’m really looking forward to seeing him and showing him around Seoul and EV. We’ll be taking him to do some things in Seoul that Glenn and I haven’t gotten to do yet, so it will be fun to experience some cultural things since we haven’t done much recently. In fact, the last time we went to Seoul (which was last Saturday), we went to an English bookstore and then had Ethiopian food for dinner. It’s not exactly the Korean experience, is it?

I may have mentioned before that Glenn joined an Improv group here at EV, made up mostly of the Edutainers but with a few teachers as well, including Glenn. They had their second show last Sunday, and it was truly hilarious! (Think of the show, “Whose Line is it Anyway?”… or, as my Grandma calls it, “What’s My Line Anyhow?”) If you click on the link below, you will see a few from the show.

This weekend, we don’t have any special plans. We just want to rest and I could use a little recovery time. Plus, Glenn is covering for a colleague who went on vacation, which means he has to work Sunday. It will be a quiet weekend, which is fine since next weekend we’ll have Dhaval here and will party it up in Seoul!

Stay cool, friends.
View Photo Gallery

Gallery | This entry was posted in South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It Finally Feels Like Summer

  1. zimzimmie1 says:

    You sound SO much better from your last post! 🙂 Glad to hear things are looking up!!

Leave a Reply

