The Long Road to Recovery

The title of this post, “The Long Road to Recovery,” seems to be my life’s theme since coming to Korea. My bank account suffered a huge blow the year I lived in Canada, which means that I am on the long road to economic recovery. We have a new bank lady whose English is even poorer than the previous bank lady’s, and so last week when I wired money home, she ended up sending the amount in dollars instead of the amount in won, leaving me with 96,000 won (roughly $86 USD) until the end of the month. But hey, my American account is looking pretty good now!

The weather has been going back and forth between cold and hot+humid. Spring seems to be a lost season this year, or just can’t make up its mind as to whether it wants us to be bundle up or sweat in a tank top and shorts. Either way, it was an exceptionally long winter and it has been a long road to warmer weather and the flora coming back to life (the recovery part).

As you all know by now, I have been battling tonsillitis for the past 7 months (although I have been suffering from frequent sore throats for about 6 years now). I was finally able to schedule the surgery and get details on the operation. It doesn’t look fun. It will indeed be a long road to recovery.

The good news? Well, despite having been sick so often, I’ll have enough vacation days to use so that I won’t have to take any unpaid days off. The bad news is that I’ll have to volunteer to work some weekends this summer in order to earn back some vacation days. (We have the option of getting paid when we volunteer to work, or to count those days as “special vacation” days that we can use at any point during the year.)

At this point, you might be thinking, “But Rachel, in your last post you told us that you wouldn’t be blogging again until after the surgery.” You are right, my friend; however, there have been a lot of people waiting to hear the details of my operation, and I decided to write again to inform everyone (instead of sending 532895302 individual emails) and, well… sometimes one just feels like blogging!

This weekend will be the last one that we have to work for this rotation. Poor Glenn will have to work 8 days in a row, just like we did the last time we were on the weekend rotation. I’ll be out due to surgery. This weekend will be busy because we have 200 people coming (an unusually large number for the weekend program). I just used the word “weekend” too many times.

Alright, now for details regarding my tonsillectomy:

Friday, May 24: Go to the hospital for X-rays and blood work (fast 8 hours beforehand)
Tuesday, May 28: Check into the hospital and stay overnight (I’m not sure why I have to go the night before)
Wednesday, May 29: The doctor will spend an hour cutting out my tonsils under local anesthesia (YIKES!)
Wednesday-Friday, May 31: Remain at the hospital for monitoring in case of complications after surgery
Saturday, June 1: Go home (unless there are complications, in which case I’ll remain there for another few days)

May 29 – June 12: Eat soft, tepid foods (melted ice cream) and suffer extreme pain.

The doc says that the first few days will be bad, then will feel better for a couple of days, but around day 7 I will experience the worst pain of all because that is when I’ll be prone to bleeding. Oh, and the pain will not be confined to my throat… it will be felt in my ears as well since everything is connected. (DEAR GOD, PLEASE LET ME HEAL QUICKLY AND SUFFER AS LITTLE AS POSSIBLE!!!!)

😦 😦 😦

In other random news, I noticed for the first time on the bus today that on the way back from Seoul to Paju, the road signs indicate the directions to different cities in North Korea. I find that both interesting and odd that they would include that information seeing as nobody does (or can) cross into the North.

Also, the “Museum of English Pub History” that is right across from our apartment, which has been empty since before I even arrived at EV, will be opening up soon. At least, that’s what I can surmise based on the fact that I saw men carrying furniture and boxes into the building as I was coming back from Seoul this afternoon. Since the door is now unlocked, Glenn and I went in there and looked around for a few minutes. It could be a cool attraction for EV; there is a section on the history of beer, a section on how beer is made, and many bottles showing examples of different kinds of beer from English-speaking countries. If I didn’t remind Glenn that he had clients to train this evening, he might have stayed in there forever!

Tomorrow is Friday, and I’ll be taking the day off to go back to the hospital for X-rays and some blood work. I’m going to do my best to have as much fun as possible these next few days before surgery, because I know I’ll be feeling miserable for at least a couple of weeks while I recover.

Wish me luck!

Gallery | This entry was posted in South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Long Road to Recovery

  1. zimzimmie1 says:

    Good Luck Rachie!! Hope it all goes smoothly and you feel better soon!!!

Leave a Reply

