At Least It’s Not the Coronavirus

Hello, family and friends.

There are 4 points that I would like to share with you in today’s post. They are as follows:

1. It is FINALLY spring here! A week and a half ago, I was able to put away the winter coat for good and have been wearing light jackets since then. Flowers have finally bloomed and trees are finally green again. I forgot how pretty the scenery is here since everything’s been dead for about 7 months now!

2. With the arrival of warmer weather comes the bugs. While I’m extremely glad that I won’t be in DC for the 17-year cicadas, I’m slightly nervous about what kinds of creepy-crawly things I’ll find in this part of the world. I’ve already been shaken up by what I thought was a mouse running across the floor of my apartment the other night, but turned out to be the biggest spider I have ever seen in my life (besides tarantulas, of course). I wished then that it really had been a mouse….

3. Once again, I have fallen ill due to tonsillitis. Actually, what I’ve had the last 3 times I’ve been sick is a peritonsillar abscess, which is an infection of the area around the tonsils (a complication of tonsillitis). The abscess can rupture, the contents leak down the throat obstructing airways, and in severe cases, can cause pneumonia (which I had in January). The good news is that they have finally figured out that I’ve had chronic tonsillitis and can take the next step to treat it. The bad news is that the next step is a tonsillectomy. I know it will be a really rough recovery, but if it solves my health problems once and for all (I’ve suffered from frequent, severe sore throats for about 6 years now), then it will be worth it in the end. It will be great to finally be healthy enough to enjoy my time in Korea instead of getting sick every month or two!

4. Since I am sick right now and am going to the hospital next week to schedule the tonsillectomy, and will then have to recover from it, I will be taking a break from my blog for a while. Once I’m healthy again, I’ll resume my ramblings about my various experiences here in Korea.

Until next time….

Gallery | This entry was posted in South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At Least It’s Not the Coronavirus

  1. zimzimmie1 says:

    I hope all goes well!! Feel better!!!

Leave a Reply

