Spring Has Not Yet Sprung

Hello there!

I know it’s been a while – again – since my last post. My excuse this time? I have two: 1.) There was a lot of work drama going on and I just wasn’t in the mood to write about it, and 2.) I was sick… AGAIN!!!

With regards to the work drama… well, you know the saying, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all”…? That’s kinda the mindset I was in. Unfortunately, if I want to keep my job, I really can’t explain my feelings about what has happened, but I’ll attempt to objectively summarize what has happened:

-The bus was 45 minutes late for a field trip. Apparently, this is my fault.
-Admin decides that Glenn and I are not ‘suitable’ for Special Programs.
-We are removed from Special Programs and put back in OWP.
-The 2 spots in SP are opened up to everyone and we are sent a link to the online application.
-Glenn and I reapply because we are two of the most qualified teachers in all of EV.
-We are not hired and instead put on the weekend shift as further punishment.

Yes, we were angry and upset for a while (and still are, to an extent). However, we are trying to make the best of the situation and decided to focus our energy on fun stuff and pretending that work is just a bad dream from which we’ll wake up in 8 months from now (when Glenn’s contract is completed).

In other news, yes, I got sick again. This time, practically all of EV is sick, too. My throat was so sore last week that I used 4 vacation days (since I used all my sick days in January when I had pneumonia) and went to the doctor, who diagnosed me as having tonsillitis. He gave me an antibiotic and a handful of other pills to take for 3 days, which did absolutely nothing for me. So, a week and a half later, I am finally feeling better and I’m thinking the illness has run its course. Poor Glenn is currently suffering from a head cold.

Last weekend, we spent a day in Seoul and went up Seoul Tower. (It’s a must-do experience for people visiting Korea… I can’t believe it’s taken me 6 months to get there.) Pictures are coming soon; check back in a couple of days.

There is a long-term program currently going on here for university students who are taking the semester off to improve their English. There are 7 participants and they put out a bi-monthly magazine. It’s actually very well done and they write about English Village, Korea, and Korean culture. I highly recommend reading it when you have some free time. Here’s the link to the latest issue: http://www.joomag.com/magazine/ever-magazine-issue-2/0184644001365988485

It’s still cold here. Very cold.

Alright, folks, that’s it for now.
View Photo Gallery

Gallery | This entry was posted in South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

