Rain, Rain, Go Away

Today was the first rainy day I’ve experienced since arriving in South Korea. It was quite a mess in the morning because a new group of students arrived, and we had walk them from their buses to their hotels, then to the Concert Hall for Orientation. I was given a group of 17 middle school boys and was dreading it because they’re a pain to get from point A to point B, let alone in the rain, but they were actually very well behaved and I was pleasantly surprised. Wearing a poncho, carrying an umbrella, plus my bag and the clipboard with the student list (which ended up ruined due to the rain) was such a mess. Orientation, though very boring, was some nice down time after the crazy morning we had.

By the way, I’m not writing anything about yesterday (Sunday) because I spent all day in the office again, with Rene and Zaaid, and developed some lesson plans. That was about it for Sunday. I never thought I’d be happy for it to be Monday, but I really was excited this morning since it’s back to OWP during the week.

After Orientation was lunch, and then classes the rest of the day. My devo today was during the last hour and I ended up helping a colleague of mine do some research for a lesson plan he’s working on and talked to the VIP Coordinator about running a club for VIP. I wanted the Dance Club, but that was taken, so I came with Zumba Club. It would be fun to do a World Languages Club, like I had at George Fox Middle back in the States, but it’s English Village and it wouldn’t make much sense to bring other languages into it.

What made today especially fun was the start of Assassin. Assassin is a game played among GEV teachers and is sort of like the game, ‘Cluedo.’ Everyone is given the name of someone they must “kill” (another teacher) and it must be done with the selected weapon, which could be anything from a cell phone to a prop from the drama room. In order to “kill” someone, you go up to the person and touch them with the “murder weapon,” and there can’t be any witnesses. It seems like most of the teachers wanted to play and so everyone was moving around in groups this morning, being sure to not be left alone in a room or with their back to anyone. It was hilarious, actually. I managed to “kill” my person today and that means that now I have to “kill” the person that she was supposed to get. My next target is easy and I think I’ll be able to get him/her tomorrow, as long as I can stay alive in the meantime. If I can do that, then I’ll be safe until Friday since I don’t work Wednesday and Thursday.

After work was the first meeting of the Spanish Club. We talked about when to meet, whether we want to get books or not, etc. It seems that most of them are at the intermediate level and there will be a couple of beginners, and only myself and John who are advanced, which worried me at first because I don’t want to be bored if we’re in there with lower level people. However, after we finished talking about logistics, we played a game called “Hot Seat,” which is actually a game we play at GEV but instead we did it in Spanish. It was a LOT of fun and we laughed all night! In the end, I was glad that I decided to join the club.

Overall: a good day. And the rain has already gone away. 🙂

Gallery | This entry was posted in South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rain, Rain, Go Away

  1. Grandpa and Grandma Heim says:

    Hey, Rachel, it’s great to hear you’re having fun after that down day previously. We hope you don’t go broke and hungry before pay day comes!

    This rainy day turned out OK, didn’t it? Which all goes to prove that you have to make your own sunshine!

    Love,
    G&G

  2. The rain here is torrential isn’t it? I swear, even if you use an umbrella you still get soaked! I invested in a pair of rainboots I found on Gmarket…and they’ve been amazing! Thank goodness for blue skies today though. Yesterday made me just want to curl up in front of a fireplace with a cup of coffee and a good book.

    • Fortunately, we didn’t go have to go outside when it was raining cats and dogs, but we still got pretty wet. Thank goodness for my poncho but I could’ve used a good pair of rainboots. As soon as I get paid I’ll have to buy some!

  3. marian LaRusso says:

    Hi sweet girl, as always, we love reading all the info you send. Actually, it is
    raining in Hurley and perhaps I can get G-pa to play some games. Hmmmm.
    Love you , love you, G and G

Leave a Reply

