Mentally preparing for South Korea

Hey, everyone!

Okay, I know these posts are few and far between, but that is just for the time being. I will really get this thing going once I’m actually IN South Korea, living and working (and learning!).

It still hasn’t quite hit me that I’m going to live and work in a country I have never been to before, whose language I don’t know at all, and whose culture I am still ignorant about in many respects. Of course, a lot of these things I will learn while I’m there; so, what I’ve been trying to do in the meantime is research what my daily life will be like there. I’ve found a lot of blogs with recommendations on things to bring with me, like deodorant, toothpaste, and shampoo (apparently these things are available there, but are expensive and a little different from what you would find in the “West”), and even bed sheets, which I’m told are expensive and don’t fit right (?!). I’m taking notes on these things and planning accordingly while I wait for my background check to come in so I can proceed with applying for my visa.

Otherwise, I’ve been having a blast this summer! I’ve already been to New York twice, and North Carolina. I’ve seen various friends and family members. I’ve been making up for the fact that this past year up in Canada was really rough and I didn’t have any money (or a car) to go out and do anything. The year left me depressed, sleep-deprived, probably malnourished, and with a chronic sinus infection and cough (or maybe even walking pneumonia?). Having the freedom and financial means to travel around, spend time with family and friends, and enjoy city life has done wonders for this City Girl!

Well, I guess that’s it for now. In a few weeks I’ll be able to write about my experience obtaining my work visa for Korea. The adventure hasn’t quite begun, but I am getting really excited already!

Until the next time….

Rachel

Aside | This entry was posted in Waiting for S. Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

